“How the Hôtel de la Marine, place de la Concorde, was saved for the French”

TRIBUNE – The President of the Republic inaugurates the Hôtel de la Marine on Thursday, after renovation work which lasted five years. The new national monument will be open to the public from June 12. This is the happy outcome of a hard battle for the defense of this heritage jewel, say the main officials of the association Les Amis de l’Hotel de la Marine.

The signatories of the forum are: Olivier de Rohan-Chabot, Pierre Achard, Gilles Ameil, Henri Josserand and Christian Prévost-Marcilhacy.

The French will discover, in the coming weeks, the Hôtel de la Marine, entirely renovated and now placed under the privileged status of a national monument.

To discover it in fact, because, if this superb building, with its perfect symmetrical shape, on the other side of the rue Royale, is familiar to all those who cross the Place de la Concorde night and day in Paris, very few of them they – a tiny minority – had the chance to enter it and learn about the eminent role it played in the history of France for nearly three centuries, as well as the exceptional quality of its architecture and the beauty of its interior fittings.

The Hôtel de la Marine, completed in 1775, under the reign of Louis XV and to the plans of Ange-Jacques Gabriel, was in fact designed from the outset as a State building and intended for the sole use of the state. He is then assigned

This article is for subscribers only. You have 85% left to discover.

Subscribe: 1 € the first month

Cancellable at any time

Already subscribed? Log in

.




The article from the source

Tags

Related Articles

Back to top button
Close