In the DPR, LPR, Zaporozhye and Kherson regions, referendums began on joining the Russian Federation

Voting in referendums on joining the Russian Federation as subjects began at 08:00 (coincides with Moscow time) on Friday in the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics (DPR and LPR), as well as in the Kherson region and in the liberated territories of the Zaporozhye region. It will last until September 27, inclusive, while in the interests of security, in the first four days in these regions, they will vote not at polling stations, but in adjacent territories and by addressing residents.

Voting at polling stations on the territory of the LPR, Zaporozhye and Kherson region will be held on September 27 from 08:00 to 16:00. Then the counting of votes will begin. In the DPR, it will be possible to vote at polling stations on September 27 from 08:00 to 20:00.

Meanwhile, polling stations organized for refugees opened on September 23 in a number of Russian cities.

The Central Election Commission of Kherson stated that they expect about 750,000 voters to take part in the voting. In the Zaporozhye region, 500 thousand people are included in the lists. Ballots were printed for 1.5 million voters in the DPR, according to the number of people who can come to the referendum. It will be possible to follow the voting process in the Donbass via telegram channels, which the central election commissions of the DPR and LPR created on the eve of the referendum.

Residents of the DPR and LPR will have to answer the question of whether they support “the entry of the republic into the Russian Federation as a constituent entity of the Russian Federation.” In Zaporozhye and Kherson regions, the question in the ballot reads as follows: “Are you in favor of the region leaving Ukraine, creating an independent state, and becoming part of the Russian Federation?” At the same time, in the DPR and LPR, where since 2020 only Russian has the status of the state language, the ballots are printed in Russian, and in the Zaporozhye and Kherson regions, the question is written in Ukrainian and Russian.

In total, 450 polling stations have been opened for residents of the DPR on the territory of the republic and more than 200 in the Russian Federation. The CEC of the LPR, in addition to 461 polling stations in the republic, opened 201 polling stations in the Russian Federation. In the Zaporozhye region, 394 polling stations were formed in the region and 102 outside it – in the Russian Federation, LPR, DPR and Kherson region. Residents of the Kherson region, in addition to their region, where they created eight territorial and 198 precinct election commissions, will be able to vote in the Crimea, Moscow and a number of other Russian cities.

news source


Related Articles