The United Nations chooses the UAE as a non-permanent member of the Security Council


/FW1F/William Maclean

Emirates’ flag

Today, Friday, the United Nations General Assembly chose the UAE, Brazil, Albania, Ghana and Gabon as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for the years 2022 and 2023.

“After obtaining two-thirds of the required votes, Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates were elected members of the UN Security Council for a term of two years, effective January 1, 2022,” said Volkan Bozkir, President of the United Nations General Assembly.

The elected nations will replace Vietnam, Niger, Tunisia, Estonia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and will remain members of the Security Council until December 31, 2023.

Mohammed bin Zayed, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi, said, “The UAE’s election today to the UN Security Council for the period 2022-2023 embodies the world’s confidence in Emirati politics and the efficiency and effectiveness of its diplomatic system.”

Source: RT

The article from the source


Related Articles

Back to top button